2018 Osun State Governorship Election: Things to Know

Osun State was carved out of the old Oyo State on August 27, 1991, by the military regime of Ibrahim Babangida. The first democratically elected Governor of the State, Isiaka Adeleke, took office in January 1992 and governed till November 1993, when the military junta of Babangida dissolved all political offices, after the annulment of the June 12, 1993, Presidential election. The September 22, 2018 Governorship Election in Osun State would, therefore, be the sixth to be conducted since the creation of the state in 1991. The poll to be held by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will usher in a successor to Governor Aregbesola whose tenure ends on November 6, 2018. Osun is an off cycle elections as a result of a post-election litigation arising from the widely condemned 2007 elections. The elections was overturned by a decision of the Court of Appeal sitting in Benin, saw Rauf Aregbesola declared the rightful winner of the elections after three years of legal battle.

We use cookies to improve your experience. By continuing to visit this page, you accept our use of cookies.